Where we live

Four convents in South Africa

In South Africa, we live in the region of St. Clare. Our region consists of four convents – communities where sisters live together. All of them are based in the provinces KwaZulu-Natal and Eastern Cape: Mbongolwane Convent (KZN), Holy Childhood Eshowe Convent (KZN), St. Clare Novitiate Formation Convent (KZN) and Ntabankulu Convent (Eastern Cape).

Originally, our congregation was founded in Oberzell, Germany. Our fellow sisters – the Oberzeller Schwestern – stand for the biggest share of our congregation. This is why the mother house, generalate and many of our self-founded organizations are based there. South Africa is the second biggest region worldwide. Another convent is based in New Jersey, USA.